Even the Right Can Get It Wrong…

A friend of mine tweeted this picture today and it made me laugh.  I am not above making mistakes and I understand that part of doing stuff like this is making gaffs like this also.  What struck me funny was not the mistake as much as the network making the mistake.  I am under no grand allusions about other networks, but the right seems to always be “right.”  I thought it was ironic that in this case the “right” was wrong.

Another case was posted today about a recent issue with Chick-Fil-A.  Apparently CFA’s donation of boxed lunches to an “Art of Marriage” seminar was seen as someone as anti-gay.  In this case the “left” was wrong.  But then a baptist church in Arkansas had a member send out an email to the whole church encouraging them to go buy CFA and support their stand against the “homos.”  C’mon…the “right” was wrong…way wrong.

I acknowledge that for much of my life, I would have fallen on the “right” side and my arrogance proved to be quite the gorge between me and many of my friends.  Being on the “right” doesn’t mean I am always “right” and being on the “left” doesn’t mean I am either.  I make mistakes, I misjudge others and I have to face my own prejudices towards those around me.  My experience has taught me that it’s much easier to love my neighbors when I keep this in mind.

One thought on “Even the Right Can Get It Wrong…

  1. grrr…another thing scratched off my “bucket list.” Thought I’d be able to knock out Egypt while on my AFRICAN safari. Guess my geography was way off…

What Say You?

